My First Time…My first game

Video Games is not just a hobby but my passion and love, as I am sure it is with many of you. Growing up its guided me through some tough times in my life, personally. Its helped me create a world away from the pain and misery, its helped me learn that even when you don’t succeed you keep pushing. You keep trying and most importantly you never give up!

Growing up I’ve always been asked – “…you still play video games?” – and sadly nothings changed to this day. Being in my late 20’s the question is asked a lot more often by many people in my day to day life. And honestly it truly frustrates me but this isn’t a post to vent but rather discuss my first time I ever played a video game…well the first time that I can remember.

Around 1994 I was about 7 years old and my parents purchased a PC. The PC had a black and white display but had three games loaded on it. A tetris knock-off, a cannon shooter and the game that started it all for me Prince of Persia.

Although the game was in black and white it never reduced the quality in any way. And I think the thing that attracted me most to it was that you literally only needed an hour to play…yes that’s right an hour! The premise of the game is that the Princess is held captive by the Grand Vizier Jaffar and it is up to the player to escape the dungeons and save her. Along the way the player will have to face spiked traps, guards, trapped doors and even a mirror doppelganger. Yes Prince of Persia in its time was my masterpiece. And even though I completed it over and over again, I kept going back. Everything remained the same in-game of course with the exception of one thing, trying to beat my previous time of completion.

Many years have passed since then and Prince of Persia to me still remains as iconic as ever. The franchise itself has also since spawned many other titles on a wide variety of consoles not to mention a movie known as Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time which released in 2010 surprisingly the same time the Soccer World Cup came to my country – South Africa…funny story when the entire country and World I assume had their eyes on the opening match of the 2010 World Cup, I was booked at the cinema watching Prince of Persia and the weird part is that I was the only one in the room that literally holds more than 200 people. Although the movie wasn’t well received I still do enjoy watching it from time to time and do recommend you watch it as well as try out any of the games in the franchise.

Tell me can you remember your first Video Game title you’ve ever played?

7 responses to “My First Time…My first game

  1. That’s awesome! I’ve never played the original Prince of Persia (or any, actually), but I’ve heard good things about the series. My first game was either Super Mario Bros. or Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!! for the NES. Both games kicked my butt when i was younger, haha, but it was a great introduction to gaming.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

